71 local high school students named national merit semi-finalists | Education


Seventy-one high school students from northeast Oklahoma were named National Merit Semifinalists on Wednesday.

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. announced the names of more than 16,000 semi-finalists across the United States in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship program. Students enter the program as juniors when they pass the preliminary SAT, which serves as an initial screening tool.

As semi-finalists, students are up for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth approximately $30 million to be awarded in the spring of 2023. The number of semi-finalists in a state is proportional to its percentage of the national total of senior graduates. Nationally, the number of semi-finalists is less than 1% of all high school students.

Semi-finalists must meet several requirements to advance to the finalist tier, according to a press release. In addition to submitting detailed scholarship applications, students must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be approved and recommended by a high school official, and write an essay. Additionally, they must obtain ACT or SAT scores that confirm their previous performance on the drug test.

People also read…

The finalists will be announced in February and the scholarship winners will be selected from this group.

Semi-finalists by school

Augustine Christian Academy: John Bell

Bartlesville High School: Joyce Yang

Bishop Kelley High School: Owen Anderson, Georgia Bacher, Evan Baumgartner, Julia Bush, Maxwell Gangel, Noah Hanisch, Gabrielle Stanger

Bixby High School: Austin Cody

Booker T. Washington: Lance Brightmire, Sarah Haskell, Prisha Reddy

Broken Arrow High School: Sydney Bennett, Emilee Fisher, Tanner Silver, Jennifer Vo

Cascia Room: Joshua Glasgow

Edison Preparatory: Lukacs Acker-Breslin

Holland Room: Noel Hosterman, Tanvi Kiran, Anna Teoh

Homeschool: Eric Bader (Tulsa), Bruce Bigler (Tulsa), Charles Goodman (Bixby), Jameson Griffin (Bixby), Summer Luttenberg (Tulsa)

Jenks High School: Hayden Bertotti, Cora Brown, Lillian Carey, Aidan Chan, Andreas Chatzigiannidis, Kaden Cherry, Emma Cinocca, Michael Deutscher, Thomas Deutscher, Andrew Ford, Raymond Jiang, Reva Majajan, Jon Martinsky, Shepard Muckey, Arturo Puigbo, Andrew Pursell, Abeer Shoaib , Zane Smith, Jeremy Song, Daniel Wang, Anabel White

Keys High School: reed trimble

Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics: Janice Ku (Stillwater), Charles Liu (Stillwater), Brian Yang (Stillwater)

Owasso High School: Shaun Ehrhart, Carina Galutia, Eli Hall

Academy of Philosophy: Carter Henry

Preparatory Regent: Alexander Dupree, Julia White

Stillwater High School: Bess Glenn, Marek Oomens, Sydnee Sisneros

Summit Christian Academy: Jacob McCormick

Tahlequah High School: Robert Batson

Tulsa Honor Academy: Nathalia Mireles-Mota

Union High School: Jason Boydston, Nayab Ijaz, Kayden Kehe, Celestine Kim, Michael Nguyen, Cassandra Robison

Wagoner High School: Jacques Hardin

Six seniors from Union High School have been named 2022-23 National Merit Semifinalists: Nayab Ijaz (left), Cassandra E. Robison, Kayden J. Kehe, Michael N. Nguyen, Jason A. Boydstun and Celestine Y Kim.


Featured News Video: Cal Ripken Jr. and Devon Energy Partner to Open STEM Centers in Tulsa


Comments are closed.