New Irish songs to hear this week


Happy Friday the 13th! Listen to some of our favorite new Irish tracks of the week below…

Aoife Nessa Frances, “The Void Follows”

In the main Irish music news this week, it was announced that Aoife Nessa Frances had signed with Partisan Records – joining a list which includes Fontaines DC, IDLES, Just Mustard and Laura Marling. To coincide with the announcement, the Dublin artist has shared a new single, “Emptiness Follows”. It offers a hugely promising taste of what to expect from its 2020s follow-up Earth without junction.

Ye Wanderers, ‘Lord Gregory’

Nine Waves, Ye Vagabonds’ new album is out today via Rough Trade’s River Lea imprint. Produced by John ‘Spud’ Murphy (Lankum, black midi, Caroline), the album further establishes the duo as one of the most quietly authoritative forces in Irish music, as they continue to expand their sound across a compelling collection of traditional and original music. tracks.

Post Punk Podge & The Technohippies, ‘The Living Wake’

Following the release of their debut album, Euphoric reminder, last year the Limerick band made their much-anticipated comeback with ‘The Living Wake’ – described as ‘a song about emigration and its effect on the Irish psyche’. The haunting track further establishes Post Punk Podge & The Technohippies as one of the most crucial bands currently making music in Ireland.

Caoivín, “A New Era”

Blending traditional and contemporary elements, Caoivín returned this week with “A New Age.” The Galway-based producer, singer and multi-instrumentalist grew up playing traditional music, before finding himself drawn to Khruangbin, Tinariwen and Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. The new track features a repurposed chorus from the old folk song “Willie Taylor.”

Scustin, “sick of making love to you”

After premiering on, “Sick Of Making Love To You” launches today on streaming services. It showcases a new side to Scustin’s artistry, opting for a laid-back groove over the wild hijinks of their debut single, “The Killer”, and drawing inspiration from Mild High Club and Homeshake. Once again, immersive storytelling is central to the group’s approach – as their mononym frontman Larry explores “the sexualization of media and adult content production in general by personifying him as a lover who ‘makes you think that romance is dead”.

The Love Hum, ‘Wild One’

The alternative rock trio from Cork have shared their first single since joining forces with independent label FIFA Records. “Wild One” follows “Here Comes The Scum” and features a band confidently finding their own sound and direction. Formed in 2017, The Love Buzz includes Kieran Hurley (vocals/guitar), Aidan Lynch (bass) and Henry Love (drums).

Lisa McHugh, ‘Dynamite’

Written by Picture This, “Dynamite” is the sixth single to be shared from Lisa McHugh’s upcoming album. The track explores themes of empowerment and learning to grow and get out of difficult situations.

“I’m thrilled to be back releasing music again and getting back on stage,” Lisa said. “I’m so proud of this single and I feel blessed to have Picture This’s trust with one of their songs, and I hope I’ve made them proud. I feel so lucky to be able to do this to earn my life.”

The Blizzards, “Something grabs you, something holds you back”

Among the highlights of the Blizzards’ fourth studio album, Sometimes we see more in the dark (released today), is “Something Grips You, Something Holds You” – featuring the voice of Irish writer Michael Harding. The piece delves into a particularly significant memory of Bressie’s adolescence.

“This song is as personal as it gets to me,” he says. heat press in the new issue. “It’s about the day Kurt Cobain died – and the Christian Brother hit the desk, called him a coward and yelled in my face. I just remember saying, ‘This is My hero How do you talk about him like that I didn’t even know what happened I was 14 and I was in the middle of my own shit This whole song is what I should have hear that day – what I needed to hear, as an upset and confused person.

Echotal, ‘Poseidon’

Six months after releasing their powerful single ‘Endless Fields’, Echotal are back with ‘Poseidon’ – and an accompanying Chariot of Black Moth music video.

Along with vocals and guitar from David Rooney, acoustic guitar and effects from God Is An Astronaut’s Torsten Kinsella, and harmony vocals from Jay Willson and Gavin McCabe, ‘Poseidon’ features Echotal in collaboration with London cellist and composer Jo Quail. The song’s lyrics came to Rooney in a dream he had “of waiting for a loved one to return to where we had spent time by the sea, feeling that reunification was unlikely but knowing that if I was waking up, it never would be.”

Villa In France, ‘Green Machine’

Hailing from the north coast of Northern Ireland, Villa In France have shared the second self-released single from their upcoming debut EP. The indie-rock trio have described “Green Machine” as “the most experimental single” they have released so far – exploring themes of capitalism and generational wealth.

Sophie Doyle Ryder, ‘Sucker’

Fast rising pop star Sophie Doyle Ryder releases her debut EP, beginners luck, today. Along with the previously released singles “Don’t Want No Boyfriend” and “Hunni Hunni”, the project features three new songs – all of which are ready for major radio airplay as summer approaches.

Sean McCoish, ‘May’

Wexford singer-songwriter Seán McComish embraces a laid-back summer energy on ‘May’ – a feel-good song he hopes will bring some hope and joy after the challenges of the last two years.

“It would be counterproductive if I released this song in another month!” he’s laughing.

Dbo, Giggs and Lethal Bizzle, ‘Dapper Dan’

Drogheda A92 Drill Collective continue to put their town on the map, as one of their standouts, Dbo, teams up with British legends Giggs and Lethal Bizzle for the collaborative track ‘Dapper Dan’. The single is set to feature on Lethal Bizzle’s next project, Lethal B vs. Lethal Bizzle, out June 10.

Abbacaxi, “You took my love”

Dublin’s Abbacaxi continues to establish himself as one of the hottest forces on the local scene with his new six-track EP, Unending, today. “You Took My Love,” which premiered on yesterday, is among the gripping highlights of the project.

“I wrote the Unending EP when I returned to Ireland after many years living abroad,” says the artist also known as Thomas Garnett. “I had no money, but I was having a great time writing my own music, make new friends and find old ones. These tracks are inadvertently linked to that time as I navigated my way through the troubled waters of my early twenties, and the beautiful and ugly times that came with it.”

Cabin, ‘All you got’

The Dublin-based producer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist returns with a gripping new single “Whatever You Have” – ​​completing the series of four tracks conceived and produced during the creative wave that led to the creation of Cabin as what a musical project.

“It’s a piece that embodies my way of seeing and approaching musical creation as an individual,” he explains. “That we now have the ability to create something far greater than ourselves, we should strive to achieve.”

Lee Rogers, “Silent Song”

Carrickfergus-based singer-songwriter Lee Rogers has unveiled his new album, Game, today – with ‘Silent Song’ among the highlights.

“My dad was as tough as the road he walked on, but he had the softest heart for us and my mom, whom he loved unconditionally,” Lee comments. “He had a fighting spirit, and that’s what I believe ‘Gameblood’ means and is where the title of the album comes from.

Listen to the ‘New Irish Songs to Hear This Week’ playlist below:

Read interviews with Ye Vagabonds, The Blizzards and more in the new issue of Hot Press – available now:


Comments are closed.